Saturday Blog: I’m reading. So Should You.

It’s been two weeks of Monday, Wednesday, Saturday blog publishing (if they haven’t all been here, I have another blog at http://www.writersgroup1.WordPress.com which was originally intended as a writer’s group for those of us who can’t find time in “real life” for a regular meeting. It is also a good way for others to promote their blogs / sites. *hint, hint*).

Tonight? Well, tonight I’m reading. And you should be too.
Some suggestions:

* Anything and everything by Neil Gaiman. You can start with Sandman Seasons of Mist (graphic novel). Never where and Good Omens (with Terry Pratchett) are also good starting places.

* Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky (Penguin edition, translated by David Margashak) and Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy are good Russian novels.

* If you like Spanish, Like Water For Chocolate is similar enough to the movie that after watching the movie numerous times, I was able to read it in Spanish! And, of course, there’s One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

* You can always reread books you loved growing up. I used to read Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind (all 1034 pages) yearly. I just reread Stranger in a Strange Land  (“grok” is even in dictionary.com! Tho I guess you have to have read the book to grok the significance of that!)  and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

I’m going back to my book. It’s about the Tarot, as I have a deck I’ve created, although the work is on and off (more off than on, but I just found my notes. Now I need an artist to draw the cards from some basic visual images and descriptions I’ve come up with!).
Good night.
Blessed Be.
Enjoy your book.

Leave a Reply

