Bloomberg’s Over-Sized Idiocy

I generally try to keep my political opinions to myself, but when I read Bloomberg’s Ban on oversized drinks was going to trial, I felt it time to say something.
We all know that the “sugary drinks” (soda; juice with no real juice; etc.) are unhealthy. They are bad for us. They lead to horrible diseases to numerous to mention.
Which is why these are not “everyday” drinks. As with anything– even healthy foods– the word we need to remember is MODERATION.
At it’s heart, I think this is why Bloomberg is trying to pass this law. What he is forgetting, as he often does, is that we’re not all blessed with his wallet.
I am one of those people. When I buy an extra-large Slurpee on a hot summer day, it isn’t just for me. It is shared by two or more people. Take away the extra-large, which costs about $2, and I can’t afford to buy small drinks for three or more people at $1.25 each.
As for the movies, a family of five can easily spend over $100 for tickets, large drinks (to be shared), etc.
The point is that we are adult Americans who should be given the choice to buy sugary drinks whenever we want. For those like me, who cannot afford two small drinks (which, oddly, cost more than an extra-large), we need that option.
I appreciate Bloomberg’s attempts to make us healthier. But until Bloomberg realizes that a lot of us buy the large because it is a better deal price-wise, there will always be opponents to his proposals.
I would like to see Bloomberg live on welfare / Medicaid / food stamps, with his family, for three summer months. Then let’s see what he has to say about sugary drinks.

Leave a Reply

