<Note: Robin Hobb also writes under the name Megan Lindholm>

ROBIN HOBB is best known for her trilogies: The Soldier Son Trilogy, The Farseer Trilogy, The Liveship Trader Trilogy, and The Tawny Man Trilogy. All but the Soldier Son Trilogy take place in the same area; The Tawny Man Trilogy is actually a continuation of the Farseer Trilogy. Astute readers will also notice that one of the main characters in the Farseer and Tawny Man trilogies appears in the Liveship Traders Trilogy. Hobb also has two books of a possible trilogy which continues the Liveship Traders Trilogy, albeit with different characters (although some of the characters from the Liveship Traders show up in minor roles.) I have read every one of Hobb’s trilogies, with the exception of the Soldier Son Trilogy — I have just finished the third book in that series, titled Renegade’s Magic. Each one of Hobbs books has been hard to put down once I started reading, yet it took me two tries (and some encouragement from a Twitter friend) to continue and finish Renegade’s Magic. I freely admit I skimmed more than a few pages of this book. This in no way implies that I think you should overlook Robin Hobb if Fantasy is one of your favourite genres. I would merely suggest that you begin with another of her trilogies. My personal favourite is the Liveship Trader series, which was my introduction to Hobb as a writer. I began the first book of the trilogy, Ship of Magic, and was able to read almost half of it before I left the place — and the book — behind. Hobb’s paperbacks are easily ovver 600 pages, so reading half was not easily done in two days. But manage it I did; though it meant I had to carry the book with me everywhere I went. After leaving that unmentionable place, I searched for hobb’s books at the local Barnes & Noble, but my memory failed me. It was almost two years later when I found, quite by chance, the book I had started so long ago, in plain sight on a library shelf. I was overcome with joy. Not only at finding the book, but because I found all three books in the series and was able to check them out and read them in record time. The Liveship Traders Trilogy deals mainly with the daughter of a shipping family. As their father has three daughters, and Althea is the oldest and most experienced, she expects to inherit the Liveship. A Liveship is made from wizard wood, a substance that is able to withstand more than the average ship. In addition, after three generations have died on the ship, the masthead becomes lifelike, and is able to help guide the ship where it might otherwise not be able to go. So this inheritance is not a small thing but, as Althea has sailed with her father on the ship since she was a child, she is devestated when, after her fathers’ death, the Liveship “quickens” or becomes “alive” and is left to the middle sisters husband. The tale is engrossing and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The Farseer Trilogy is the first part of the Tawny Man Trilogy. This does not mean you should skim through the Farseer trilogy, as it stands on its own as a complete story. However, I will admit, it did take me a few chapters to become as engrossed in the series as I was with the Liveship trilogy — which held me captive from the first page. But once it gets going, the Farseer trilogy is worth it, as is the Tawny Man. I will get back to you about Soldiers Son. I have only just finished the third book and, as I said, it took two tries to get into it and I did skim liberally. Maybe I’m just more interested in Liveships and (spoiler alert!!!) dragons but after I read the first two books I will complete this review. For now, start on any of the trilogies except Soldiers Son. Enjoy 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s